Our Board

Sue Clarke AM, Chair

FAICD,  ANZSoG Fellow, Grad Dip (Business), Grad Dip (Social Science CD)

Sue has held senior positions in health and community services for over 40 years including community health, local government, state government and the private sector. Sue’s experience extends across primary healthcare, philanthropy, governance and community engagement. She has a strong interest and experience in clinical governance and consumer and community engagement. Sue has previously held Board Director positions with Bendigo Health, Murray PHN, Ambulance Victoria, and was the Chair of Haven; Home Safe, and Patron of the Community Foundation for Bendigo and Central Victoria.
Sue joined the Board of Bendigo United Friendly Societies Pharmacies Ltd in July 2019 and Central Victorian United Friendly Society Limited in September 2019 and is the Chair of the Quality, Safety and Risk Committee and a member of the Member and Community Committee.

Contact: chair@bendigofoodshare.org.au 

Cathie Steele, Deputy Chair

BSc, BScApp (Physio), MSc, MBus

Cathie has more than 30 years of experience in the health sector, clinical service, management and governance. She has been a Clinical Associate Professor with Melbourne and Monash Universities and has served on a variety of boards in the health and research sectors. Cathie also led the successful establishment of the Australian Centre for Health Innovation at Alfred Health in Melbourne. After serving as Chair of the Board of Bendigo Foodshare from 2012 to 2022, Cathie has now stepped into the Deputy Chair position and has taken up a role as Chair of the Board of the Regional Food Security Alliance.

Kate Haigh, Secretary


Kate Haigh is a practicing solicitor, and currently a member of Bendigo and Adelaide Bank’s regulatory and compliance team. She worked for ten years in private practice before joining Bendigo and Adelaide Bank in 2009 as their in-house solicitor. During this time she was focussed on commercial disputes and class actions.
In 2022, Kate joined the Bendigo Foodshare Board of Directors, keen to use her commercial skills to give back to the Bendigo community – a place her family has called home since 2010.
Kate’s diverse employment history in legal, risk and compliance means she brings strong analytical skills, a strategic focus, and solutions to complex business problems to the Bendigo Foodshare Board.

Paul Somerville, Treasurer


Paul has had over 30 years’ experience working as a Chartered Accountant in public practice, industry and the not-for-profit sector. Paul is the Chair of Amicus Community Services and is the Chief Financial Officer of Haven; Home, Safe and has had extensive experience in the areas of corporate governance, financial strategy and the not for profit sector generally.
Paul is an advocate for community based organisations being locally governed and responsive to the needs of the communities that they serve.

Steven Abbott


Steven Abbott is a forward-thinking leader with expertise in all aspects of urban, rural and environmental planning, corporate governance, strategic leadership, organisational performance, policy development and community engagement.
He joined the board in 2021 bringing extensive public sector experience across local and state government. Steven also brings experience in the development of small businesses, community organisations and residential and commercial property development.
Steven enjoys engaging with people to understand community needs and aspirations, supporting fit-for-purpose and equitable services in varied situations, and leading change that delivers tangible positive outcomes within the community.

Helen Musk

TPTC, Grad Dip Spec Ed, M.Ed

Helen Musk joined the board in 2018 after many years working with organisations working with refugee and migrant families in Bendigo. Helen trained as a teacher but worked as a regional officer until retirement when she began a new career in medical education. She was the original Executive Officer for the consortium that developed training for the region’s GPs. Later, she trained interns and overseas doctors for the hospital. She is committed to developing healthy and sustainable food options for people in need.

Margaret Keech OAM

BScApp (Physio), GradDip SpSc

Margaret Keech joined the Board in 2019, bringing with her a wealth of experience in the health, sporting and community sectors. A retired physiotherapist, working in the public and private sectors, Margaret has worked with sportspeople across Australia and is currently the immediate past Chair of the Board of the Bendigo Academy of Sport. Margaret’s not for profit sector committee experience includes much committee work at Girton Grammar in the past, including President of the Parents & Friends Association; is a Leader of both youth and adults locally in the 1st Strathfieldsaye Scout Group, Bendigo District Scouts, as well as at a State level. Margaret greatly enjoys her role as manager for the Forever Young Rock Choir and also sits on the Board of the Ulumbarra Foundation. Margaret is also an active member of Dragons Abreast Bendigo.